JUSTICE VIKRAMAJIT SEN

Office: Administrator, DDCA, Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium E-mail: justicesen.ddca@gmail.com, Tele: 26317274

20th November 2017

PRESS RELEASE

It is essential that Delhi & District Cricket Association recognizes and honors' retired cricketers who are the quintessence of a cricketing body. Recognition of sportsmen and their contribution is not only just, but is a great source of inspiration for aspiring cricketers.

In line with this thought, I have constituted an 'Honours Committee' comprising of Chairperson Justice (Retd.) Mukul Mudgal, Dr. Narottam Puri -- DDCA Member and noted Cricket Commentator, Mr. Ravi Chaturvedi -- DDCA Member and noted Cricket Commentator, Ms. Neeru Bhatia Vijay Lokapally --- senior sports journalist and Mr.Vijay Lokapally --- senior sports journalist.

The Honours Committee and I are of the view that the cricketing atmosphere in DDCA needs to be revived and the following initiatives will hopefully contribute towards that end:

- 1) DDCA will host the FIRST DDCA ANNUAL CONCLAVE on 29th November at our iconic Ferozeshah Kotla stadium. Mr Bishan Singh Bedi has agreed to be the keynote speaker.
- 2) The Conclave will also witness the inauguration of the 'BISHAN SINGH BEDI STAND' and the 'MOHINDER AMARNATH STAND' in recognition of their immense contribution to DDCA and Indian cricket.
- 3) In order to recognize, encourage and reward the contribution that Women deserve in our country and in her sports, a woman cricketer has been chosen too and it has been decided to name a gate in the name of Arjuna award winner and Padamshri awardee, Ms. Anjum Chopra. Gates 3-4 will be now be renamed as 'ANJUM CHOPRA GATE'
- 4) It was a matter of great concern that all these years DDCA did not have a proper hall that befits its stature and records DDCA cricketers' contributions. On the same occasion, DDCA will also be inaugurating the renovated MAK Pataudi Hall of Fame.
- 5) It also gives me great pleasure to announce that DDCA will be felicitating all the Captains, who have led the DDCA team over the years.

- 6) I am in full agreement with the Honours Committee's recommendation that for men's cricket, a benchmark of playing at least 35 Test matches shall be the criteria for DDCA to name an area (gate/stand/pavilion etc.) at Ferozeshah Kotla in their name. Accordingly, several other retired players such as Chetan Chauhan, Madan Lal, Maninder Singh, Manoj Prabhakar and others in the list should also be accorded this honour as per the criteria, in due course. To ensure that each such cricketer/coaches' contribution is given its due recognition and attention, DDCA shall give effect to these recommendations before an International Match/Annual Awards in the years to come.
- 7) It was decided unanimously that active cricketers like Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan should be honoured after they have retired from all forms of cricket.
- 8) We were all unanimous that DDCA should also honour coaches Gurcharan Singh and Tarak Sinha who have been instrumental in honing the talent of so many cricketers, who have done DDCA and Indian cricket proud.
- 9) The home team dressing room has been reinstated as the 'RAMAN LAMBA DRESSING ROOM' while the Visiting Team dressing room shall be named as the 'PRAKASH BHANDARI DRESSING ROOM'. Mr Prakash Bhandari is the first Test cricketer from Delhi.
- 10) Last but not the least, we are also in the process of finalising 'DDCA Awards' for cricketers of our Association who have performed well during the domestic season.

I am grateful to the Honours Committee for their time and effort. I look forward to meeting with cricket enthusiasts on November 29 at the First DDCA Annual Conclave.

Wegramajt San (Rotd) Surrama Court

Justice Vikramajit Sen (Retd), Supreme Court of India Administrator, appointed by the Hon'ble High Court of Delhi